I’m The Lucky One

Amidst my pondering on what to write about this morning, a friend of mine told me that she had a dream about me last night. Something about someone’s subconscious putting together images of you is just one of the coolest things in the world. Now we still don’t know why, as a species, we dream or why we dream what we do dream. But if you are one of the millions of people like me that dream every single night, you’re aware of just how exciting it can be to dream.

Now I’m not going to bore any of you with stories of what my dreams are. To quote Dennis Reynolds [Always Sunny in Philadelphia] “Dreams are like pictures. If I’m not in them and no one’s having sex – I just don’t care.” It’s pretty straight to the point. Most dreams are far too abstract anyways for them to be interesting to anyone. Most of us wake up in the morning forgetting what was just racing through our minds. Sometimes we do remember but they’re so uninteresting or irrelevant that we forget them just as quickly as our minds made them up. But now and then we have that dream that is so vivid that it is almost as real to us as the events from the day before. Or if you’re like me – and if you are, that’s unfortunate – you dream like that on a regular basis.

Even when I was a little child I had a hard time distinguishing my dreams from the realities around me. I used to always get upset with my father [and now that I think about it this may have been where my lack of trust for other human beings was rooted] because I thought he had told me there were “blue traffic lights” that were only for cops to go through. Now we all know this is absurd and my father knew full well that he never told me that. I never believed in Santa of the Easter Bunny, but until I was about eleven years old I would always look at traffic lights to see if there was a blue one.

Do we all have dreams that we really take that seriously and distort our sense of reality? Probably not. My experiences as a child are probably fairly unique but it proves my point that the line of reality between dreams and what we deem as the real world can be blurred at times. For those of us who dream it takes a few minutes sometimes to put together the events that just took place in our imaginations and accept that everything that just happened was “only a dream”. Of course the real reason that we can’t remember most of our dreams has nothing to do with how interesting or epic they are. We’ve all had dreams that we want to tell someone else but when we get around to it we forget what we were dreaming about. This is because during your REM cycle, the period of sleep when you dream, your brain doesn’t produce the chemicals your brain needs to process short-term memories into long-term ones.

For a while my goal was to become a lucid-dreamer. This is the term for when you’re dreaming and you are aware of it. During this scenario you have complete control over the dream scenario and often everything surrounding you. Now I know a lot of books that apparently will train you to be a lucid dreamer but it just seems way too good to be true. Not to mention if you can have anything you want in your dreams, what would be the excitement in reality? I love my dreams – they’re often extremely epic, movie-like with great cinematography, challenging, and intriguing. I don’t know if it is a reflection of my life’s potential or just a factor of my watching too many movies, but it’s exciting for me [even amidst nightmares] to see where the plot of my dreams will take me. I feel like half the adventure and all the drama would be destroyed if I had the ability to control my dreams.

So I think the real lesson to be learned out of my failed conquest to manipulate my dreams is that we should all just embrace what we have. Lets all just use our tools and talents to the best of our abilities and not get over fixated with false realities. If the next chapter in our lives takes us to Austin, Texas – Go. If the next destination on your map ready North Carolina – Go. If you look out on the horizon line and all you see is San Francisco – Go. If you take too much time to think about your decisions, you’ll never make any choices. Let life lead you and just embrace everything completely. “Half-assing” things will do you no good. Don’t miss out on the right relationship just because you don’t like the idea of committment, don’t not switch jobs only because you’re worried about that short time span without medical coverage. Dont’t hesitate to go back to college if you think the only thing holding you back is the lack of an education. Don’t be afraid of the stage. The crowd loves you – It’s time to give them what they want.

Leave a Reply

