Jump On It – Daily Downloads [11/2]

This is my first post on downloads – these are going to be songs that you need to add to your collection immediately. Not all of them are new – some of the are forgotten classics. My goal is to broaden your horizons in music and help you to engulf yourself in sound from today all the way back to 1950. Get ready for a cultural experience and get ready to enjoy some great jams. I will be doing this everyday so I hope you keep checking back for some “daily downloads”. Five a day will help you play so do what I say and follow my way. Belong are some songs that will blow you away.

John Mayer – Who Says: “Who says I can’t get stoned” are the first words in the song. John Mayer has come a long way since “Your body is a Wonderland” and he continues to grow as an artist. This is such a great jam about being who you want to be and the more I listen to his new music the more I’m impressed. His next CD, “Battle Studies” is set to be released on November 17th. I wouldn’t be shocked if this turns out to be his best work yet.

Killing Joke – The Death & Resurrection Show: Who knows where this song came from. I don’t like most of the stuff that Killing Joke has produced but this song is a huge exception. Dave Grohl plays drums on this battle anthem and it is well worth your time. I can’t really say you should go out and download a lot by Killing Joke, but I recommend the album this song was released on, Killing Joke (2003).

Black Eyed Peas & Papa Roach – Anxiety: Another group that I’m not a huge fan of [of course Will-I-AM is one of the best producers out there] and Will-I-Am does shine here. The song was released on “Elephunk” which i think can be avoided but no collection should be missing this song.

Tom Waits – Get Behind The Mule: Ok, this is a little bit weirder than  what most of you will really connect with but Tom Waits has such an original sound that I feel everyone should have some of his music on their computer. A little bluesy, a little rough and a little raw. It’s one of my favorite songs by him and so, naturally, I feel you should check it out.

Micheal Buble – Cry Me A River: A little unexpected I know. Buble has continued to prove he has one of the best voices in the industry and the “New Age Sinatra” dazzles on this cover. While I agree that it would be nice to hear some original material I really enjoyed his version of this song. It sounds a lot like a James Bond theme song.

Leave a Reply

